Day 43: Emotive run cycles Part 1

And here are the emotive movement cycles I have been working on. What I wanted to do was take Dr. Ekmans seven basic emotions (Hooks 2011, p.63) and apply them to run cycles, to see if you can get emotional movement cycles. I tried animating a happy, angry and sad run cycle and you can see the results below.

test06happyRun

test06angerRun

test06sadRun

I wouldn’t say any of the runs look like an emotion. Instead I would say happy is carefree, angry is determined and sad is introverted. Having the camera behind the character definitely makes emotive posing a lot harder. Instead, I think a lot of emotion will come from secondary gestures which are overlaid while running. So if the sad person was wiping their eyes for example. I think this will be my next set of tests.

p.s. I hate the happy run, the shoulders and hips are misaligned and the arms don’t work.

Leave a comment